Participants :: Jazeps Vitols International Choral Conductors Competition ::


Thomas Baron Germany

Thomas Baron

Thomas Baron (1989) works as an aural training and music theory teacher at the Bavarian State Youth Choir and as assistant conductor of several choirs.

After receiving a diploma as a choral conductor in 2014, T. Baron completed his music education at The University of Music and Performing Arts Munich in 2015. The following year he graduated with distinction from the MA program in choral conducting under Professor Michael Gläser.

Thomas Baron currently directs five ensembles in and around Munich. In 2011 he founded the Wittelsbacher Vocalensemble, a chamber choir with a particular focus on challenging a cappella literature. Since 2015, T. Baron is the artistic director of the soloist ensemble Vodeon founded in 2015 and the musical director of the Leonhardi Ensemble in Höhenkirchen-Siegertsbrunn. Since 2016 he has been the musical director of the Philharmonic of Young Christians, but in early 2019 he took over the management of Maria Ward Choir Nymphenburg. T. Baron also performs as a tenor soloist and in various ensembles and works as a vocal coach at the Nymphenburg Cantata Choir. Since October 2016, he teaches choral conducting at the University of Music and Performing Arts Munich.

Thomas Baron’s wide-ranging repertoire includes a cappella literature of different styles as well as choral-symphonic works such as Mendelssohn’s Elijah, Prokofiev’s Alexander Nevsky, and Mozart’s Requiem. In 2018 he directed Bizet’s opera Carmen.

Matīss Pēteris CircenisMatīss Pēteris Circenis /Latvia/
Mantvydas DrūliaMantvydas Drūlia /Lithuania/
Thomas BaronThomas Baron /Germany/
Bohdan PrytulaBohdan Prytula /Ukraine/
Heng-Yi PaoHeng-Yi Pao /Taiwan - Austria/
Marco BarbonMarco Barbon /Italy/
Artūrs Oskars MitrevicsArtūrs Oskars Mitrevics /Latvia/
Yeonju LeeYeonju Lee /SOUTH KOREA - GERMANY/
Maria AvdeyevaMaria Avdeyeva /Russia /
Aivis GretersAivis Greters /Latvia /
Patriks Kārlis StepePatriks Kārlis Stepe /Latvia /
Viachaslau LarynViachaslau Laryn /Belarus/
Vilhelms Georgs VācietisVilhelms Georgs Vācietis /Latvia/
Daniil LashinDaniil Lashin /Russia/
Jack ApperleyJack Apperley /United Kingdom /
David FarkashaziDavid Farkashazi /Hungary/
Tomasz SiegristTomasz Siegrist /Switzerland - Sweden/